Champion of Champions

bowler with trophy

Report by Liz & Mike Caird

Lilleshall mens champion Quentin Smith is the 2019 Worcestershire BA Men's Champion of Champions, having beaten Gareth Roberts of Barbourne by 21 - 11 in a competitive game, played in a very friendly spirit.

Quentin started off with a toucher on the first end and this seemed to settle any nerves he might have had beforehand. However, Gareth picked up singles on each of the next 3 ends to lead 3 - 1 after 4 ends. The 6th end gave Quentin some momentum. He had a toucher with his 1st wood and trailed the jack with his last to score 3 shots. After 8 ends he was leading 8 - 3, but Gareth showed his class on the 9th end, moving the jack to score 2 shots. He repeated the shot on the 12th end, by ditching the jack with his last wood when Quentin was holding shot with 3 back woods. This brought the score to 9 - 8 in Quentin's favour.

After 14 ends, Quentin led 11 - 9, but then started to pull away, winning 6 of the next 7 ends and picking up the 10 shots needed to win 21-11.

The 17th end was interesting. Quentin ditched the jack with his last wood and Gareth then drew close to the ditch with his last. The umpire and marker had to bring out the strings to measure and Quentin's bowl just prevailed.

Captain Kath Matthews, Rod & Sheila Payne and Liz & Mike Caird were at Gilt Edge to support Quentin and Gareth had support from Barbourne too. The friendliness extended to both sets of supporters, who warmly applauded their 'opponents' good shots as well as those of their own player.

After the match, Quentin was presented with the Brian Borthwick Cup by the WBA Men's President, Tony Keeling.

Quentin is not the first Champion of Champions from Lilleshall, as Sheila Payne won the ladies competition in 2018. He's also not the first Lilleshall member to have his name on this trophy, as Mike Hubbard won the competition in 2003 whilst a member of Telford & Wrekin BC.

bowlers bowlers

Quentin's path to the title:
21-19 -v- Tony Carter (Aston Summerville) (A)
21-16 -v- Ken Cowley (Crystal) (H)
21-14 -v- Alan Guest (Stourport) (neutral green - Chester Road BC)
21-11 -v- Gareth Roberts (Barbourne) (final - Gilt Edge BC)

Lilleshall Hall Bowls Club
All Rights Reserved